How to lead a good life for your puppy and tips on potty training.

First, I’m going to talk about socializing your puppy.  It’s good to have them around other dogs their whole life or your dog will be aggressive and very territorial.  And that’s not a good thing ’cause if they get out they will hurt someone’s dog and possibly the owner.  So, that’s why it’s good to socialize your puppy.  When they are young, take them to a dog park.  Let them run around and play with the other dogs, but be sure to supervise them carefully.  You can even schedule play dates for your puppy.

Second, we are going to talk about what to feed your newest family member.  While you are housebreaking your puppy, do not give them people food.  You need to feed your dog the food they like.  I highly recommend The Good Life; that’s what we feed our dog and cat.  The one food I will tell you not to give your dog is Old Yeller.  My vet said, “It has no protein value at all and you might as well feed them the paper bag.”  Would you like to eat a paper bag?  I dont think so.  That’s how bad it is for them and I know you want the best for your dog.  You need to feed them food with good protein that will give them strong bones and a healthy heart.  Read the label on the bag just like you do for yourself or ask a sales associate if they have a dog and what they recommend.  If they say, “Oh, I feed my dog Old Yeller,” remember what I told you and share the info with them.  They may thank you and change their dog’s food.  I want you to know how to lead a better life for your dog and help them live longer.

Third, we are going to talk about potty training your dog.  I have a puppy myself and potty training isn’t easy.  My mom wants to give him to my grandma, because he leaves her “presents” in her closet (no one likes that).   Let’s start with the stuff you will need to clean up the potty, because it’s gonna happen with a puppy in the house (not the funnest part; I take that back, none of it is very fun).  You will need various items:  white vinegar, baking soda, paper towels or rags, a sponge, ammonia-free household cleaners, a spray bottle and rubber gloves.   When using the vinegar and baking soda, combine one part white vinegar with three parts water in a spray bottle.  Before you spray the solution, sprinkle baking soda over the offending area; it absorbs moisture as well as odors.  Then clean with your vinegar-and-water solution.

Leave a comment